Item No. 24	Classification: Open	Date: 23.7.03	Meeting Name COUNCIL ASSEMB	LY
Report title:		Adjournment Procedure Rule 3	Debates (Council 3.12)	Assembly
Ward(s) or groups affected:		All		
From:		Chief Executive (Borough Solicitor & Secretary)		

COUNCIL ASSEMBLY PROCEDURE RULE 3.12 ADJOURNMENT DEBATES

At the preceding Council Assembly, the Mayor will choose by ballot those Members who will move adjournment debates. The Mayor will draw three names (and three reserve members). Members will move debates in the order in which they are drawn. However, should a Member not notify the Borough Solicitor & Secretary of the subject for the adjournment debate within the timescale (four days before the day of the meeting) a reserve Member shall be called.

Subjects must relate to any matter that primarily affects a Member's ward and where the Council has powers or duties.

The Member moving the debate may make a contribution of up to 5 minutes. At the invitation of the Mayor, the relevant member of the Executive or Chair of Committee/Sub-Committee or Community Council must have the opportunity to respond to points made in the debate for a period of up to 5 minutes. Executive Members or Chairs shall have the discretion to refer a reply to another Executive Member or Chair, if this is appropriate. No other Members shall be invited to speak. There will be no vote at the end of the debate.

Each debate shall be limited to a period of 10 minutes. At the end of the period, the Member speaking must immediately sit down. The Mayor will interrupt the meeting and proceed to the next debate. The session will last for no more than 30 minutes.

No further motion to suspend Council Assembly Procedure Rules shall be moved once the Adjournment Debates have commenced. No further business shall be considered.

- 1. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE No.1 COUNCILLOR DR. ABDUR RAHMAN OLAYIWOLA (CHAUCER WARD)
- 2. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE No.2 COUNCILLOR LISA RAJAN (SURREY DOCKS WARD)
- 3. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE No.3 COUNCILLOR TAYO SITU (PECKHAM WARD)
- 4. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE (RESERVE LIST) No.1 COUNCILLOR STEPHEN FLANNERY (RIVERSIDE WARD)
- 5. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE (RESERVE LIST) No.2 COUNCILLOR DENISE CAPSTICK (GRANGE WARD)
- 6. ADJOURNMENT DEBATE (RESERVE LIST) No.3 COUNCILLOR KIM HUMPHREYS (COLLEGE WARD)

Lead Officer: Ian Millichap, Constitutional Support Manager **Report Author**: Lesley John, Constitutional Support Officer

Background PapersHeld AtContactAdjournment MotionsRoom 315,
Town Hall, Peckham Road,Lesley John
020 7525 7228

London SE5 8UB